This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Guatemala

Guatemala is made up of 22 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Guatemala. Information on all primary administrative regions in Guatemala.

Please note that unfortunately population data are not available for all regions in Guatemala.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Guatemala alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Guatemala

There are 22 regions in Guatemala in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Guatemala
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Alta Verapaz Departamento de Alta Verapaz1.776,246Coban Cobán53,375
Baja Verapaz Departamento de Baja Verapaz2.270,521Salama Salamá40,000
Chimaltenango Departamento de Chimaltenango3.-Chimaltenango Chimaltenango82,370
Chiquimula Departamento de Chiquimula4.-Chiquimula Chiquimula41,521
El Progreso Departamento de El Progreso5.-Guastatoya Guastatoya13,467
Escuintla Departamento de Escuintla6.538,746Escuintla Escuintla103,165
Guatemala Departamento de Guatemala7.2,541,581Guatemala City Guatemala City994,938
Huehuetenango Departamento de Huehuetenango8.846,544Huehuetenango Huehuetenango79,426
Izabal Departamento de Izabal9.314,306Puerto Barrios Puerto Barrios56,605
Jalapa Departamento de Jalapa10.390,500Jalapa Jalapa45,834
Jutiapa Departamento de Jutiapa11.6,398Jutiapa Jutiapa34,332
Peten Departamento del Petén12.366,735Flores Flores20,464
Quetzaltenango Departamento de Quetzaltenango13.667,139Quetzaltenango Quetzaltenango132,230
Quiche Departamento del Quiché14.955,705Santa Cruz del Quiche Santa Cruz del Quiché23,618
Retalhuleu Departamento de Retalhuleu15.40,000Retalhuleu Retalhuleu36,656
Sacatepequez Departamento de Sacatepéquez16.56,000Antigua Guatemala Antigua Guatemala39,368
San Marcos Departamento de San Marcos17.-San Marcos San Marcos25,088
Santa Rosa Departamento de Santa Rosa18.301,370Cuilapa Cuilapa16,484
Solola Departamento de Sololá19.307,661Solola Sololá45,373
Suchitepeque Departamento de Suchitepéquez20.-Mazatenango Mazatenango44,132
Totonicapan Departamento de Totonicapán21.339,254Totonicapan Totonicapán69,734
Zacapa Departamento de Zacapa22.-Zacapa Zacapa36,088